Learn which plants thrive in your Hardiness Zone with our new interactive map!

Parts of the American Flag

By Sienna Condy ; Updated September 21, 2017

The American flag has stood as a symbol of American independence for more than 200 years, but the stars and stripes represent more than just America's independence.


Like the British flag, the American flag is red, white and blue. Red symbolizes hardiness and valor; white stands for purity and innocence; blue means vigilance, perseverance and justice.


The 50 white stars in the blue rectangle of the flag represent the 50 states of the U.S. In 1818, President Monroe established there would be one star on the American flag for each state.


Thirteen stripes comprise the rest of the flag–seven red alternating with six white. The stripes stand for the original 13 colonies.

Changing Stripes

In 1795, after Kentucky and Maryland were admitted, the American flag had 15 stripes--one for each state. The stripes stayed that way until 1818 when President Monroe decided there would be 13 stripes permanently.

Fun Fact

When Betsy Ross made the first American flag in 1776, it had 13 stripes and 13 stars.


About the Author


Sienna Condy began writing professionally in 2001 while attending the University of Cincinnati, and she's been at it ever since. Since graduating, she's written everything from marketing materials to articles on removing stains. Today, she enjoys writing about weddings, legal issues, science, health and parenting.