Foods for a Wheat Allergy

Wheat allergy and wheat intolerance are two separate problems. Wheat intolerance is caused by the inability to digest gluten (gluten intolerance). Gluten is a complex protein found in wheat. Actual wheat allergies are severe allergic reactions to certain elements of wheat. The allergy is an auto-immune response of the body that usually occurs suddenly after exposure to wheat. Symptoms include difficulty breathing, coughing, and vomiting, and the allergy can be life threatening. Sufferers must adhere to a strictly wheat-free diet to avoid these adverse reactions.

Breads and Cereals

When choosing breads and cereals, look for ingredients such as rice or corn. Ry-Krisps and rice wafers are excellent snack and cracker substitutes. Products made with corn, barley, potato and arrowroot can be consumed by those with wheat allergies. Look for these ingredients when purchasing bread. Cereals made from oatmeal, puffed rice, cream of rice or pure oats, rice and corn can be consumed.

Meat and Eggs

Meats such as beef, pork, chicken, turkey, lamb and fish can prepared in any fashion other than breaded or floured. Eggs can be eaten as well, as long as no wheat ingredients are added. Luncheon meats may be consumed as long as wheat or flour fillers have not been used.

Fruits and Vegetables

All fruits and vegetables are safe for wheat allergies. Fresh, canned, dried, frozen or juiced are all acceptable. White and sweet potatoes can also be included in a wheat-free diet.

Milk, Cheese and Fats

Milk and products derived from milk such as cheese, yogurt, buttermilk and some varieties of cottage cheese can be included in the diet. Cottage cheese made with modified starch or other wheat ingredients is not allowed. Butter, margarine and animal and vegetable fats are wheat-free.

Desserts and Sweets

Desserts containing ingredients such as custard and bavarian cream can be consumed. Cookies made with oatmeal, arrowroot, rye or rice but without wheat can be eaten as well. Gelatin and meringues, cornstarch, rice and tapioca puddings are also included in a wheat-free diet. Sweets such as honey, jams and jellies, sugar, molasses and corn syrup are also suitable.

Keywords: wheat free, wheat intolerance, gluten, wheat allergy, food allergy

About this Author

Jennifer Banfield is an experienced writer specializing in holistic health, equine health, canine health, equine competition and global and political issues. Most writing has taken the form of educational pieces and marketing material for the health and pharmaceutical industry. Education includes a double major in Animal Science and Agribusiness Management from Michigan State University.

Article provided by eHow Home & Garden | Foods for a Wheat Allergy