What Types of Soil Are Found in North Carolina?

North Carolina is divided into four ecoregions with distinct soils, landforms, geographical features and other ecological resources. The soils of the Blue Ridge Mountains and Piedmont Ecoregions developed from old metamorphic and igneous rocks. The Middle Atlantic Coastal Plain Ecoregion consists of poorly drained fine to coarse soils, while the Southeastern Plain Ecoregion includes sand, silt and clay.

Blue Ridge Mountains Ecoregion

The Blue Ridge Mountains Ecoregion is an area of rolling hills, mountains, steep slopes and escarpments, plateaus and valleys. The soils are mainly inceptisols, ultisols and entisols. The land is forested or used as pasture and crop lands, with some urban and suburban areas.

Piedmont Ecoregion

The Piedmont Ecoregion is comprised of inceptisols and entisols on the floodplains, and ultisols and alfisols on the hills, ridges and plains. The ecoregion is forested with croplands and urban areas.

Middle Atlantic Coastal Plain Ecoregion

The Middle Atlantic Coastal Plain Ecoregion is an area of poorly drained swamps, tidal marshes, dunes and beaches. The soils are ultisols, inceptisols, alfisols and histosols. The land includes forests, wetlands, pasture and urban areas.

Southeastern Plains

The Southeastern Plains Ecoregion includes plains, terraces, slopes and floodplains. The soils are ultisols, inceptisols and entisols. In addition to forests and wetlands, the land is used for pasture, crops and urban areas.

Keywords: North Carolina soils, coastal plains soils, piedmont soils

About this Author

Melody Lee worked as a newspaper reporter, copywriter and editor for 5 years. In addition, she has edited magazine articles and books. Lee holds a degree in landscape design and is a Florida master gardener. She has more than 25 years of gardening experience, which includes working at nurseries and greenhouses.